Why My Son’s Room Is the Cleanest Room In Our House

I learned a little rhyming ditty from my mother while I was growing up, that outlined our morning and night routine in five simple steps.  When saying it, we’d point to one of our fingers in order, so the first task was indicated by raising or pointing to our thumb, the second by indicating the index finger, and so on down to the pinky.  Here it is:  (feel free to say it with me)

“Dress, prayer, teeth and hair, bed, pick up ten.”

We called it our Morning and Night Stuff.  In the morning, it was Morning Stuff.  At night it was…you guessed it, Night Stuff.  Aren’t we clever.

Anyway, when my toddler got old enough to follow simple instructions, or at least imitate me when I did something and invited him to do it too, we started doing Morning and Night Stuff, mostly just so we’d have a routine to follow as a wake-up and and wind-down regimen.  Little did I know that that last bit, the “pick up ten,” would be the key to cleaning up the rest of my house, and KEEPING it clean.

You see, since it’s part of the routine, every morning and every night, at least ten things in his room get picked up and put away.  Forgive me for tooting my own horn, but it’s genius.

He even enjoys helping clean up, especially when we sing the clean-up song.  (You know the one, “clean up, clean up, everybody everywhere…”)

So, I had the thought the other day:  What would happen if I were to apply this to another area in my house?  My bedroom, the living room, the kitchen island? Pick up ten things every morning and night? Just ten things?

What I learned:  it works there too.  The rooms slowly seemed to straighten themselves up.  And as long as I kept doing it, they stayed more or less straight!  So simple, yet so effective.  That’s how I like it.

Have a quick and easy organizing technique or trick you’d like to share?  Leave it in a comment!

2 thoughts on “Why My Son’s Room Is the Cleanest Room In Our House

  1. Pingback: Morning Stuff Chart & Free Printable! | This Disorganized Life

Leave Some Comment Love! <3

