New Discovery: Couponing

Yes, you can coupon without being extreme.

So, I’ve been fighting the coupon craze.  My mom clipped coupons while I was growing up, and in my mind they’ve always been this undesirable, nasty thing that I’d only turn to if I had no other option.  This aversion to coupons was reinforced by the new TLC hit series “Extreme Couponing”.  The people on the show actually confess to spending hours every day in their couponing endeavors.  After watching just part of one episode, I was SO sure that I would never do it.  Not with everything else on my plate.

So much for that.

It’s mostly out of necessity that I’ve caved and started to clip those coupons, and as much as I hate to say it, so far… it hasn’t been so bad.  The biggest thing I’ve had to remember is that I need to start small.  Starting small is not something I do well.  I’m an “all or nothing” type of person, so starting small is quite a challenge for me.  But I’m doing it, and I feel like I’m doing okay so far.  If you’re like me and just getting started, here are a few pointers:

  • Focus on one store at first, CVS is a good choice.
  • Resist the urge to buy things that you don’t normally buy just because you have a coupon.  Only clip, save and use coupons for items you already get, and save the super mondo deals for when you really know what you’re doing, because at this point, you really don’t.  You’ll just end up spending more money.
  • You DO, in fact, have to start a stockpile.  But it doesn’t have to be a big one.  I have a little bitty 600 sq ft apartment, no closets, no attics, no garage, no basement, so I get it.  But just try – pick a little spot somewhere, one box, one spot under your bed, something small to start.  That’s all you’re doing is starting.
4 thoughts on “New Discovery: Couponing

  1. Pingback: Extreme Couponing For An Extreme Economy « goskinnyexpert

  2. I was thinking maybe I would start – I just always forget on Sat/Mon to try to grab a Sunday paper. I am so an ‘all or nothing’ person as well!! I mean if you are going to do something, you might as well do it!!! Right!!! I am slowly starting to learn how to either be more consistent, or schedule my ‘all or nothing’ in different areas, on different days. So at least I am always doing something. 🙂

    • I keep forgetting to do that too, get a Sunday paper on Saturday or Monday. What I am probably going to end up doing is just having it delivered. The Boston Globe and the Boston Herald have all three of the major inserts (Proctor & Gamble, SmartSource and RedPlum, or P&G, SS and RP for short) but the Herald is cheaper by about half, so I think that’s the route I’m going to go. Or I might just start calling recycling centers and seeing if they have any I can swipe.

  3. Pingback: New Discovery: Closet Office (or “Cloffice”) | This Disorganized Life

Leave Some Comment Love! <3

