New Discovery: Labels Are More Important Than Designated Bins

By all accounts, it should have worked. The system was in place, everybody was used to it, the only change was that the labels were gone.

Have you ever spent hours organizing a whole room, put everything back into their bins, boxes, shelves and various other designated locations, then come back a day or even an hour later to find everything out and spread everywhere as though you’d never done any cleaning at all?

Yeah, me too.  And I can hardly stand it.  I mean, I went and got a whole bunch of those $0.97 black and white dishpans from Walmart to hold everything, and to keep like things together so the kids my husband I could find any given type of toy quickly and easily without having to dig through one big huge box with every single toy we own.  But for some reason, nobody kept the system of the bins except for me.

That is, until I put labels on everything.

Then, suddenly everything started to stay in its designated place.

And it was glorious.

Until the labels started falling off two months later.

In my frustration, I decided that I didn’t want to bother with relabeling everything.  “It’s been this way for a good two months now,” I reasoned.  “Everybody should be familiar enough with where everything goes now, it’s part of the routine.  We can manage without more labels.”

I was WRONG.

By all accounts, it should have worked.  The system was in place, everybody was used to it, the only change was that the labels were gone.  But alas, the system did not maintain itself.  Which leads me to only one conclusion:

The system was the labels, not the bins.

It didn’t matter that all the bins were still there and in their same places.  The way I figure, putting the labels on the bins removed the element of having to think about the system.  We didn’t have to try and remember what went in which bin, and where each bin went on which shelf.  The labels did the thinking for us, all we had to do was look at them and obey.

So, the labels win.  I’m going to relabel every bin.  Lucky for me, I have my trusty Dymo labeler to help save my day.

Watch out, unlabeled storage bins.  Here I come.

2 thoughts on “New Discovery: Labels Are More Important Than Designated Bins

  1. Diana,
    Try finding photos or clipart of what’s in the bins, too. (For example: a car or truck for the itty-bitty-really-hurts-when-you-step-on-one-with-bare-feet vehicles.) That way, Buckley and Claire will have a better idea of what goes where until they can read. They may even learn those words by sight!

    • Beverly, that’s such a great idea! I actually saw a post on another mommy blog about doing that… must investigate this further… I think I smell another post idea coming!

Leave Some Comment Love! <3

