New Discovery: Food Storage Calculations (Simple)

Have you ever heard of those food storage guru ladies out there who somehow manage to know exactly how many pounds of flour they need to feed their families for a whole year?  Ever thought that you could be one of them?

Yeah, me neither.

I grew up in a house where food storage was common practice and I still feel like I’m just getting started, so if you’re feeling overwhelmed, you’re in good company.

But this week, I decided that I’d give that year’s-worth calculating thing another try.  And to my surprise, it didn’t go half badly!  I decided to use one of my all-time favorite food storage-friendly recipes, Mom’s Waffles (aka, Waffles Worth Waking Up For), because 1) I make it every week anyway, 2) it already uses (mostly) shelf-stable food-storage staples, and 3) my family would go bananas if we suddenly had to stop eating them, so I better know how much I need for a year anyway.

I’m an index-card recipes-in-a-box kind of gal, so instead of trying to go straight to a “this will calculate everything you will need for a year” spreadsheet, I just stuck with the index card.  Across the top, I wrote the name of the recipe, and how many times per month I made it (in this case, 4x per month, or once a week) so I’d be able to easily go back and know what I’d done to calculate the amounts.  Then, I… well just look at the chart:

Okay, so I used a spreadsheet for the visual. It fit better than a coded table.

It wasn’t nearly as complicated as I thought it would be.  After I figured it all out (and made that spiffy chart), I just wrote down all the amounts from the last column on an index card and stuck it in the recipe box with everything else.  Mostly so I wouldn’t lose it, but still.  It’s way less scary now, and I might even try it with a few other recipes!  Has anybody else tried this?  What do you find works best for you?

One thought on “New Discovery: Food Storage Calculations (Simple)

Leave Some Comment Love! <3

