New Discovery: Bookmooch.com

Do you ever find yourself going home from the library with a stack of books that you’re just dying to read, but you still have this nagging thought in the back of your mind that you’re only going to finish one, if you’re lucky, before they’re all due again?

It’s okay, I’m like that too.  Which is a large part of why my husband has pretty much barred me from going to the library anymore.

The other large part is that when I do decide that I’m going to finish a book, I rack up so much in overdue fines that I might as well have just bought the book to begin with, because even if I didn’t like it in the end, I would have spent the same amount anyway, and I wouldn’t have had to stress about the due date.

Well, overdue fines and due dates are over and done for me, because I’ve found my new solution: bookmooch.com.

Pretty much the way it works is this:

  1. You list books you have but don’t want anymore.  For free.
  2. When someone makes a request for that book, you ship it to them, for free, and you get a point.
  3. You use the points you earn to request books from other people, who then ship those books to you, for free.  Usually 1 point gets you one free book shipped to you on somebody else’s dime for the price of shipping another book you didn’t want anyway to somebody else who did want it, but on your dime.

It’s GENIUS.

So like the book-lover that I am, I immediately let my imagination run away with me on what a potential gold-mine of free books this was going to be for me.  I dashed to my bookshelf with the intent of clearing out all the books I never read and filling it with books that I will read… come to find out that I already did that about 6 months ago.  And still haven’t read most of the books that are already on the shelves.

So much for that.  But at least now I have something else to motivate me to get back into more regular recreational reading.

They suggest that you start out by listing ten books, so I’ll just have to plow through nine more of the books on my bookshelf and see which ones are lame enough to give away but good enough that someone will request them.  I’ll let you know as it unfolds.

My list as of today:

  1. The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd

What books do you have that you’d give away?  What books would you request?  Any suggestions for other sites that do something similar?

Leave Some Comment Love! <3

