A Little Boy’s Christmas Wish

When I asked my five-year-old boy what he wants for Christmas this year, his response was essentially, “Mom, I don’t really care about presents, or what stuff you give me. What I really want is lots of tradition, ritual, and just Christmas experiences with you, so I can remember what we did together, and look forward to doing it again next year.”

Darned if I can’t remember his exact words, but that’s the heart of his request. And how could I say no to that?

So this year marks the first year where I actually make Christmas into a month-long affair, by putting the decorations up now, and doing something Christmas related each week.

This week, we’re going to make handprint Christmas cards and take them to the VA hospital down the street. I get the feeling that a handprint and candy cane from a child will put a smile on even the grumpiest of veteran faces, amiright?

Jury’s still out on next week’s ritual… any suggestions?

image

Leave Some Comment Love! <3

